Crappy job? Tough it out until the new year

December’s the worst time to look for a job. The job market stinks, of course, but in November and December, it’s even tougher to get hired.

As the holidays approach, people go on vacation. Managers who drive the hiring process scramble to cover missing people. Schedules turn into Swiss cheese. When the day-to-day operations of a company turn patchy, hiring falls by the wayside.

I learned this one the hard way. I’d quit my job early November, without another job lined up (dumb idea #1). I had a big lead on my next job, and the manager wanted to hire me, but he couldn’t round up people for the interviews. You just can’t get a full roster of people for a group interview the week of Thanksgiving.

When we finally got my interviewing process done, my boss-to-be couldn’t get the executive sign-off for my hiring. No one with sign-off authority was around. When that finally happened around the 20th of December, I had to wait another two weeks until the start of January to actually start.

If you’re thinking of starting the job hunt now, grit your teeth and bear it until the new year. Work on new tech skills over any holiday you have, and add items to your resume that you’ve worked on lately. When the new year rolls around, you’ll have the jump on everyone else.

Leave a Reply

